Turmeric Coconut Oats

Some time ago I finally returned from my travels and found my way to a place I shall call home for the next three-or-so months. After almost twelve months spent more or less on the road, living out of a suitcase in different surroundings, some of which have been more of a home to me and some less. It’d be an understatement to say I’m happy to be home at my own place for now. I have unpacked all my belongings, hanged my clothes in the closet, set my plant babies on the window sill together with my crystals and the books I carried with me all this time have a place on the bookshelf.

I have started in a new job, started working on my blog and creating recipes again. I have found a new yoga studio to start doing yoga regularly again and am in the process of creating a routine where work, personal life and well-being are in balance. Sometimes life gets busy, but your health is the most valuable treasure you have, it’s not worth  sacrificing for something temporary.

The past weeks I’ve also paid more attention to my diet again. During traveling it’s sometimes hard to find the optimal nutrition your body and mind need, even though in my opinion I ate quite healthy on the road as well. At the moment my diet consists of foods that are rich in nutrients and easy to digest, easy for your body to absorb and use. For me this means dark green smoothies, big green salad bowls with rice, sweet potatoes and hummus(!), rich and spicy curries and dahl, oatmeals of all kind and multiple cups of herbal teas.

I’ve been really loving turmeric in all forms; lattes, soups, dahl, porridge… you name it. And when it comes to nutrition, if I could give you one advice to always go for, it’d be

Your body is wise and it knows what it needs hence you should always listen to your body.

Turmeric is the vibrant golden yellow powder that comes from the root of the perennial Curcuma longa plant. It has been used for centuries in Asia and is widely known for its multiple health benefits. Turmeric is known to have a particular affinity for the blood and is thereby able to circulate its positive health benefits throughout the body. It is also known to promote digestion, support the brain and nervous system, support healthy blood sugar levels and proper liver function, nourish the heart and circulatory system and boost the immune system. Food truly is your medicine.

Adding turmeric to your oatmeal not only gives it an amazing golden color but also adds all the health benefits to start your day right. Give your body some loving, and try these creamy Turmeric Coconut Oats for brekky.

Turmeric Coconut Oats

(makes 2 servings)

1 cup whole oat groats
1/4 cup rolled oats
2 1/2 cups coconut milk
2 cm knob fresh ginger, grated
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp ground cloves
pinch of saffron
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1-2 tbsp coconut sugar or pure maple syrup
pinch of salt and black pepper

Place the coconut milk into a pot and bring to boil. Add the oat groats and all the spices, and let simmer covered about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the rolled oats and let simmer for 10 minutes or until the oats are fully cooked.

Pour into bowls, serve with coconut milk, freshly grated coconut and some fruits and berries. A dollop of coconut yogurt would go perfectly with this one as well. Enjoy!

Thank you for reading!

Have a beautiful day!

xx Ella

follow for more adventures @ellalunamaria

you can also find me on bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “Turmeric Coconut Oats

  1. YAY YAY YAY!! This blog is so great . Thank you. I am currently living in Asia and if you visit my page you’ll understand a bit more about my journey here. But I am excited to be following your blog and trying your recipes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

