Beet, White Bean and Dill Falafel

Falafel is my absolutely favorite. Am I saying this about every recipe I post? I guess, it wouldn’t make sense to post recipes I don’t absolutely love and I’m rooting for beets and falafel 110 %. Even though falafel might not really sound exactly like a Christmassy food, which I promised, but this actually tastes a bit like Christmas. Maybe it’s the dill and beet combo somehow reminding me of the holiday table servings – don’t know, but still this falafel is a killer.

Plus when living on a student budget it’s all about them seasonal veggies and two kilos’ bag of beets costs like 99 cents at the moment. So what would be any other way to eat them than in a falafel? Of course you can also come up with something sweet like layered chocolate cake or brownies. But this time I’m doing it the savory way.

So without any further ado, here I am, super excited to share the recipe for my ‘wintery’ Beet, White Bean and Dill Falafel.

The Falafel
(makes approx. 15-18 falafels)

3 medium-sized beets
1 can (400g) white beans
1 tbsp dried dill
juice of half a lemon
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
½ cup rolled oats
salt & pepper to taste

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Peel and grate the beets. Transfer to a fine-mesh strainer and press out as much excess liquid as possible. Transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Rinse the white beans and transfer into a food processor fitted with an S-blade. Add the spices, lemon juice and olive oil. Blend until even and transfer to a large bowl with the beets and rolled oats.
  4. Form the dough into even-sized balls and bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Remove out of the oven, serve and enjoy!

Thank you for reading, hope you liked it!

Have a beautiful day 🙂

x Ella

PS. For more Christmas related treats, check also my Raw Bounty Bliss Balls and Sweet Potato Donuts 😉

@ellalunamaria

Leave a Reply

