Brown Rice and Poppy Seed Bagels

When I was a kid I used to love bagels. Then I found out that gluten and wheat wasn’t good for my stomach and got diagnosed with a wheat allergy. So that was pretty much the end of eating bagels for breakfast for me.

Lucky me, I’ve been improving my baking skills a bit with these gluten and wheat free goodies since then. And finally succeeded to bake a gluten free bagel with all that yumminess and fluffiness of the original wheat version. Made of wholegrain brown rice flour and crunchy poppy seeds, this one is the breakfast bomb that I may have been recently munching for lunch and dinner too – just to catch up the number of lost bagels during all these years. I like to serve mine with some vegan cream cheese or homemade raspberry or blueberry jam, but they are absolutely delish just as such too.

And now I couldn’t be happier to be able to share the recipe with you too, so let me introduce you my gluten free wholegrain brown rice and poppy seed bagels! 🙂

bagel05

Here’s how to do it:
(makes approx. 4-6 bagels)

1 ¾ cups brown rice flour
2 tbsp ground flax seeds
1 tbsp potato starch
1 tbsp psyllium seed husk powder
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

2 cups water
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

+ about 1-2 tbsp poppy seeds

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients and stir to combine.
  3. Add the water and apple cider vinegar, stir well.
  4. Form the dough into 4-6 equal sized bagel rings, sprinkle poppy seeds generously on top and bake in the oven for about 30-35 minutes or until golden. Remove from the oven, let cool a bit, serve and enjoy!

bagel11

Thanks for stopping by, hope you love it!

x Ella

@ellalunamaria

One thought on “Brown Rice and Poppy Seed Bagels

Leave a Reply

